This is the "Books on parenting/libros para padres" page of the "For parents/Para padres" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

For parents/Para padres  

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014 URL: http://fcaq.libguides.com/content.php?pid=604619 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books on parenting/libros para padres Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Libros

Cover Art
Hiperactivo, Impulsivo, Distraido ¿Me Conoces? - José J. Bauermeister
Call Number: PRO 618.92 BAU

Cover Art
Padres Permisivos - Edimat Libros, S. A. Staff; Mariano Gonzalez Ramirez
Call Number: 649 GON
Offers advice to parents on how to best discipline their children, explaining how to find the middle ground between irresponsible permissiveness and harsh punishment.

Los padres son maestros guía práctica para la correcta formación de sus hijos - Ruth Bowdoin
Call Number: JPR 306.85 BOW
Esta serie es una guía sobre cómo educar a los hijos para lograr en ellos un desarrollo máximo de sus potencialidades y una obtención de experiencias exitosas tanto mentales como físicas del niño. Es un "método" de educación integral que puede ser usado eficazmente tanto por los padres como por cualquier persona o institución que tenga bajo su responsabilidad la formación de niños entre 0 y 6 o más años de edad.

Cover Art
Math for the Very Young - Lydia Polonsky; Dorothy Freedman; Susan Lesher; Kate Morrison
Call Number: INT JPR 649 MAT
Offers activities, games, songs, crafts, and special projects that parents can use to introduce the math concepts of pattern, numbers, collecting and understanding data, geometry, and measurement to children from preschool to second grade.

Cover Art
The Values Book - Pam Schiller; Tamera Bryant
Call Number: JPR 649.1 SCH
Presents projects, activities, and ideas parents and teachers can use to teach sixteen different values to young children, covering compassion, fairness, honesty, humor, integrity, loyalty, respect, responsibility, and others; and includes songs, poems, and suggested books for storytimes.

Cover Art
The Discipline Book - William Sears; Martha Sears
Call Number: JPR 649.64 SEA
Presents advice from parents and professionals on raising happy, well-adjusted, well-behaved children, from birth to age ten, with a focus on preventing behavior problems as well as managing them when they arise.

Cover Art
Beautiful Boy - David Sheff
Call Number: 362.29 SHE
Journalist David Sheff tells the story of his son Nic's happy early childhood, the transformation wrought by Nic's addiction to methamphetamine, and his own obsession with Nic's well-being.

Cover Art
Gringa Latina - Gabriella De Ferrari
Call Number: B DEF
Autobiography of novelist Gabriella De Ferrari who was born and raised by Italian parents in Peru and later moved to the United States. Relates her memories of living in two cultures simultaneously both in Peru and in the U.S.

Cover Art
Nobody Likes Me, Everybody Hates Me - Michele Borba
Call Number: 155.4 BOR
Shows parents how to help children ages four to fifteen who do not have friends or have difficulties in friendships, covering such issues as tattling and gossiping, teasing and bullying, shyness, bossiness, insensitivity, oversensitivity, competitiveness, peer pressure, cliques, breakups, and being the "new kid."

Cover Art
Raising Multilingual Children - Tracey Tokuhama-Espinosa
Call Number: PRO 404 TOK

 

Books/Libros

Cover Art
The Parent's Handbook - Don C. Dinkmeyer; Gary D. Mckay
Call Number: JPR 649 DIN
Offers parents a realistic and practical approach to meeting the challenges of raising children, defines goals such as raising responsible children, and provides a context of behavior objectives to achieve this goal.

Cover Art
The A. D. D. Book - William Sears; Lynda Thompson
Call Number: JPR 618.92 SEA
Presents the author's drug-free approach to treating children with attention deficit disorder, offering advice on how to determine whether or not a child has A.D.D., and using real-life case studies to illustrate ways to manage the behavioral problem.

Cover Art
Ten Talks Parents Must Have with Their Children about Violence - Dominic Cappello
Call Number: JPR 649 CAP
Provides guidance for parents on how to talk to their children about ten aspects of violence; topic examples include healthy relationships and violence in the home, the media, at school, and on the Internet.

Cover Art
The Gift of Reading - David Bouchard; Wendy Sutton
Call Number: JPR 649.5 BOU
Offers parents, educators, and other adults who have contact with children advice on the best ways to inspire a love of reading.

Cover Art
Raising Cain - Daniel J. Kindlon; Michael Thompson; Teresa Barker
Call Number: PRO 305.23 KIN
Attempts to help parents and educators better understand boys are they truly are by showing how males, beginning at a young age, are systematically steered away from their emotional lives toward silence, solitude, and distrust.

Cover Art
Positive Discipline for Teenagers - Jane Nelsen; Lynn Lott
Call Number: INT PRO 649.125 NEL
Presents a parenting guide that discusses how to increase communication and understanding with teenagers, including information on winning cooperation without threatening, deciding if a teen's rebellion is normal or excessive, resolving issues from the past, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Teaching Tolerance - Sarah Bullard
Call Number: 649 BUL
Studies the roots of intolerance in adults, and discusses the principles of tolerance adults need to impart to children and provides guidelines for modeling the behavior we want to encourage.

Cover Art
Grown up Digital - Don Tapscott
Call Number: 303.48 TAP
Discusses the cultural evolution created through the generations that have grown up in the digital era--the Net Generation--and describes seven ways to appeal to younger talent in the classroom, workplace, guidelines to encourage full potential, tips for parents, teachers and other related topics.

Cover Art
My Parents Are Getting Divorced - Florence Cadier; Melissa Daly; Claire Gandini (Illustrator)
Call Number: 306.89 CAD
Presents a guide to divorce for kids, providing explanations of the feelings shared by young adults whose parents are getting divorced, including answers to difficult questions and suggestions for how to cope.

Las Dificiles Relaciones entre Padres e Hijos: miedos, celos, angustia, agresividad, límites, depresión - Eyzer Klorman
Call Number: PRO 306.85 KLO
Explica la conducta que los padres deben adoptar con sus hijos en situaciones problemáticas y, a la vez, muy cotidianas. Abarca múltiples aspectos de la relación padres-hijos: la influencia de los padres desde el mismo momento de la concepción, el embarazo y el parto, incluyendo la lactancia, el preescolar, la escuela, la pubertad y el desarrollo infanto-juvenil.

 

Books/libros

Cover Art
Boundaries with Kids - Henry Cloud; John Townsend
Call Number: JPR 649 CLO
A Christian guide to setting boundaries for one's kids in order to teach them responsibility, respect, and other aspects of character.

Cover Art
Kids Are Worth It! - Barbara Coloroso
Call Number: JPR 649 COL
Explains how to help children develop self-discipline so that they will think before acting, own up to mistakes, and be able to resolve disputes and handle such problems as bullying. Covers sibling rivalry, teenage rebellion, substance abuse, and other parenting challenges.

Cover Art
Helping Your Kids Cope with Divorce the Sandcastles Way - M. Gary Neuman
Call Number: JPR 306.89 NEU
Discusses how to help children cope emotionally and psychologically when their parents get divorced; includes information on seeing the situation through the child's eyes, helping them deal with change, coping with their fears, and other related topics.

Lectura temprana : (jardin infantil y primer grado) - Mabel Condemarín
Call Number: JPR 372.4 CON
Presents theories and practical strategies for parents and educators on how to prepare young children to become lifelong readers.

Going into Hospital - Pauline Wells
Call Number: J 362.1 WEL
ISBN: 0721408494
Many young children are admitted to hospital a the result of an accident or for specialist consultation and treatment. These experiences can be destressing both for children and their parents and it is important to prepare a child through discussion.

Cover Art
Cómo Hablar para Que los Adolescentes Escuchen y Cómo Escuchar para Que los Adolescentes Hablen - Adele Faber; Elaine Mazlish
Call Number: 306.874 FAB
Provides a step-by-step approach to improving relationships with children, and offers advice to parents on effective parent-child communication.

Cover Art
Healthy Teens - Alice R. McCarthy; Donna Raphael (Editor); David McCarthy (Editor); Mary Douse (Illustrator); Michael E. McCarthy (Photographer); Donald B. Sweeney (Preface by)
Call Number: 613 MCC
Explains to parents, teachers, health professionals, and other adults how to facilitate the physical, mental, and emotional health of children age eleven to eighteen, covering such topics as communication, education, sexuality, depression, learning disabilities, drugs and alcohol, crime, violence, nutrition and hygiene, college preparation, and community concerns.

Cover Art
Helping Your Child Cope with Depression and Suicidal Thoughts - Tonia K. Shamoo; Philip G. Patros
Call Number: 362.28 SHA
A parent's guide to coping with depression and suicidal behavior in children, with advice on communicating effectively, recognizing signs of suicidal behavior, and intervening in crisis situations.

Cover Art
Speaking of Boys - Michael Thompson; Teresa Barker
Call Number: PRO 305.23 THO
Attempts to help parents and educators better understand boys are they truly are by showing how males, beginning at a young age, are systematically steered away from their emotional lives toward silence, solitude, and distrust.

La Famille en Désordre - Elisabeth Roudinesco
Call Number: PRO 306.85 ROU

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip